Annual Report 2008

I. Outline of the Noda Institute for Scientific Research

II. Achievement of Research Activities in 2008

Reproduced Papers
K. Tamano, M. Sano, N. Yamane, Y. Terabayashi, T. Toda, M. Sunagawa, H. Koike, O. Hatamoto, G. Umitsuki, T. Takahashi, Y. Koyama, R. Asai, K. Abe, M. Machida
Transcriptional regulation of genes on the non-syntenic blocks of Aspergillus oryzae and its functional relationship to solid-state cultivation.
 Reproduced from Fungal Genet Biol., 45: 139-151 (2008) by copyright permission of Elsevier Inc.
M. Tokuoka, Y. Seshime, I. Fujii, K. Kitamoto, T. Takahashi, Y. Koyama
Identification of a novel polyketide synthase-nonribosomal peptide synthetase (PKS-NRPS) gene required for the biosynthesis of cyclopiazonic acid in Aspergillus oryzae.
 Reproduced from Fungal Genet Biol., 45: 1608-1615 (2008) by copyright permission of Elsevier Inc.
T. Takahashi, F. J. Jin, M. Sunagawa, M. Machida, Y. Koyama
Generation of large chromosomal deletions in koji-molds Aspergillus oryzae and Aspergillus sojae via a loop-out recombination.
 Reproduced from Appl Environ Microbiol., 74: 7684-7693 (2008) by copyright permission of American society for microbiology
Japanese Patents Laid-Open
Titles of Oral and Poster Presentations

III. Report on the Research Assisted by the NISR Research Grant in 2007

Research Grant
Makoto ASHIUCHI (Kochi University)
Effective synthesis of bio-nylon materials using Bacillus megaterium
Haruki KITAZAWA (Tohoku University)
Development of molecular immunoevaluation system for probiotics
Hiroshi MITSUZAWA (Ninon University Junior College)
Role of the fission yeast ammonium transporters in nitrogen sensing
Ryuichiro SATO (The University of Tokyo)
Basic and applied studies on functional factors in fermented foods
Young Investigator Research Grant
Masayuki HASHIMOTO (Shinshu University)
Genomic engineering of Lactococcus lactis IL1403
Fumitaka KUDO (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
Biochemical studies on unique enzymes in the biosynthesis of butirosin
Tomoaki MATSUURA (Osaka University)
Comprehensive analysis of the effect of E. coli proteins on the translation reaction and its application to protein production
Shin-ichiro NARITA (The University of Tokyo)
Characterization of the diversity of lipoprotein-targeting mechanisms in proteobacteria
Shuji TANI (Osaka Prefecture University)
Regulation mechanisms of cellulase gene expression in Aspergillus aculeatus
Takeo TOMITA (The University of Tokyo)
Mechanism of concerted inhibition of aspartate kinase from Corynebacterium glutamicum
Research Grant in 2006
Hiroyuki HORIUCHI (The University of Tokyo)
A novel mechanism of intracellular protein localization in filamentous fungi

Back to Annual Reports